911 Psalms 91:1

911 (Psalms 91:1)

“Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty.”

“I probably shouldn’t do that.. but maybe just once. ”
“What’s the big deal anyway?”
“Man. I should have listened to my gut.”
“I’m stuck. What now?”

Sound familiar? It’s a scenario we’ve all experienced at least once at least once in our lives. We’ve all felt that feeling of discernment, that gut check – that intuition – when we catch our friends or even ourselves, involved in something that is clearly wrong – yet our flesh dares to tell us otherwise.

We’ve all fallen to the enemy’s temptations and have made mistakes along the way, but surely “He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler.” ( Psalms 91:3 ) Satan is a clever one. The prince of darkness. King of temptation. A fallen being that has given royalty to himself even though God is the only true King. And the most persistent of all thorns. If he can’t get you to disobey God one way, boy will he try everything else. He’ll use whatever he can against you. He’ll pervert something innocent, destroy something precious or make a new concoction for you to get that “buzz” whether spiritually or physically.

“Yeah yeah, I get I
shouldn’t do this and that and I’ll be just fine” Is what a majority of the world thinks – however serving God is more than what you do and don’t do. The enemy is ever vigilant, and if your faith is based on works there is still room for him to attack. During church this morning, something stood out to me. Even if we are born again Christians and wash our sins away in the blood, Satan will still use the past against us. He enjoys placing those curses into your mind, breaking you down til the point of even trembling at the thought – “is he right? Will God stay mad at me?” Satan is relentless for wrong, but God is relentless for right and according the Bible, we read that the battle has already been won. None of us are perfect, and He knows that, but crying out to Him for support keeps us on the winning team – closer to the one who sets the captive free.

“He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in You I will trust.” (Psalms 91:2) call unto Him, allow him to protect you, let Him guide you – and He will! Let him be #1 on speed dial, your 911. Like a superhero He waits ever vigilantly to come in to save the day, but like the true Savior that He is, He also seeks to save your eternal life.

“He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him, And show him My salvation.” (Psalms 91:15-16)

Leave a comment